A letter to our fans.

by
You may have noticed the little drop down banner that appeared on our website a while ago that announced we were hiring. We still are! New faces are always popping up in all the Playfish studios and becoming part of our fish tank. Ken Ward is the “Go-To” guy for all things recruitment at Playfish and here’s what he wanted to say to all of our readers. Enjoy. 🙂

Hi everyone,

When I heard that our company blog was looking for people to write for it, I  couldn’t wait to jump in there and tell you all about how exciting it is that we’re hiring. My name is Ken Ward and I lead the recruiting team at Playfish.  Officially they call what I do ‘Talent Acquisition’ – and that’s not too far from the truth.

We have a great team spread over four studios – London, San Francisco, Norway and Beijing – on three continents, dedicated to hiring the best and brightest talent to join our fishbowl. If you’re wondering how many people we’re hiring, let me put it this way: sometimes I come in on a Monday and think I have walked into the wrong office because there are so many new faces! I know we have found the right people to work for Playfish though when I look around and see everyone huddling together and talking about new ideas and the things they love. What’s even more amazing is that we truly are representative of the United Nations, with staff at all of our offices coming from every corner of the world, all of them working together enthusiastically.

I’ve recruited in many different environments in my career, including banking (it’s on the CV and that’s where it’s staying), and Playfish is a joy to recruit for and by far the most enjoyable. It’s a truly creative and fun environment and, as we expand, it’s super important to maintain that essence as we grow… and it’s a real challenge I enjoy squaring up to.

We focus on giving Playfishers all the tools they need to do their jobs – from providing great equipment and talented colleagues to work with, to an excellent office environment that is inviting to walk into every morning – though I’m still not quite sure where the huge orange space hopper appeared from…!

We’ve got a great variety of positions open at Playfish right now. We’re focused on getting technically gifted Java programmers, super creative game developers, talented artists and excellent product managers, amongst a variety of other positions. It’s really important that people looking to join us have a passion for what we (and ultimately, they) do. At Playfish, we all feel part of the creative process, which is just one of the things that makes it such an awesome place to work. Absolutely everyone in our company is actively encouraged  to make suggestions for new games, new features… and of course everyone has to play our games – a very important part of the gaming development process! 😉

So we’re looking for creative, fun people, dedicated to changing the way people play and enjoy games. Easy, huh? People like that do exist! I should know – I work with them every day. 🙂

I’ve been so impressed with how we connect the offices in such a global environment. The vision is consistent from office to office and it was so cool last year to meet colleagues from all around the world at our annual meeting, Fishbowl 2009, sharing ideas and helping to drive the company forward. Our leadership team (that’s Kristian Segerstrale, Sebastian de Halleux and company to you and me) are instrumental in driving and supporting this connectivity, and our people, regardless of location, really feel at the heart of things. We share videos from each office at our monthly meetings which is a great way of keeping in touch but we also use a whole myriad of communication tools like instant messaging, VOIP calls as well as other more traditional forms such as email and just huddling together over a coffee in our office breakout areas to talk about exciting new possibilities.

Playfish really is a play hard, work hard culture (in that order!), and we’re focused on helping Playfishers achieve their best by maintaining a fun environment for them to create in. It’s evident in the way the office is made as comfortable for staff as possible – simple things like our Monday Brekkies where everyone has breakfast together the first morning back to the office to catch up after the weekend, to those monthly video diaries I mentioned earlier, where we all get together toward the end of every month and enjoy a party with everyone in the office for no reason other than to have fun and enjoy each other’s company! That’s the focus of our day: to create games that our players can enjoy, and to have as much fun as possible doing it! You could say that we hold ‘creativity’ and ‘fun’ as sacred at Playfish. 🙂

I feel very lucky to be here and to be one of the people helping Playfish to grow, not only in size, but in its ability to do what it does – for you, our players – better. And if after reading this you think you can help us to make great social games, too, I’m inviting you to jump right into the tank and let us know!

If you daydream about working at Playfish, check out our careers page or email careers@playfish.com.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

58 Responses to “A letter to our fans.”

  1. gluxbox Says:

    Wow the Playfish office looks so BEAUTIFUL! I love the wall with all the different Pet Society fish! I would LOVE to work there! Sadly, I live in NYC and Playfish has no offices here! (HOW DO YOU FUNCTION??) But if you ever need a telecommuting blogger, I’m your gal! 🙂

  2. Zaira Nicole S. Ignacio Says:

    coool

  3. Rewynd Says:

    I’ve honestly been thinking about moving and applying to work for you guys. But I just got a good paying gov’t job… so the move and application will have to wait. >sad face<

  4. indz Says:

    wow its kinda fun office, i’d love to join but i must finish my study first. go playfish! 🙂

  5. Raymond Wong Says:

    can i got some playfish coin.
    please give us playfish coin(or can buy playfish cash with coin)

  6. Merchas7m4 Says:

    I LOVE the Country Story Doors!
    (If one day, over night, they mysteriously go missing…. It’s not me! lol)

  7. Soeufans Says:

    i want to work with them, but im not artist neither a programer, only service of maintenance! 😦

    the offices looks cool! :O

  8. heather Says:

    i love Playfish!! country story, restaurant city!! pet society! all of them!! oh and one more thing….. are you the same Ken Ward as in “…im a hiccup, you’re a fart”????

  9. Gabby Says:

    @gluxbox same here! i would like to work there when i am older. and i live in NYC with no offices D:

  10. Tami Says:

    Ooo, Playfish Studio looks soooo cool!

    And cheers to all PF employees. Keep up the great work! 😀

  11. CindyS. Says:

    omg, I love how the office looks. so pretty!

  12. VIctor Lee Squire (rosevictor) Says:

    Man your offices look great and colorfull .

  13. Mira Says:

    SO nice!

  14. angelica Says:

    wow it looks so refreshing and lively unlike other offices that is all grey and blue. what a workplace!

  15. Mia Varga Says:

    Niceeeeee *.*

  16. Sam Says:

    i wish i could work here!

  17. Becky Says:

    Don’t you have any studio in Spain? 😥

  18. Js Says:

    I like the Playfish Studio looks, it so nice and fun~XD
    I am excited the opportunity and had send out my cv already .
    hope can hear from u back.

  19. mariano Says:

    hi!
    I join as playfish work?
    I want you to give them ideas.
    luckily God gave me a great imagination, (not wanting to presume) and I would have the opportunity to share this thought with you …
    please respond to my mail … snoopy@hotmail.es or snoopy_woodstock@live.com.ar
    I’m from Argentina …
    please respond
    : D

  20. Kim Littani Says:

    Looks like an amazing and creative environment to work in!
    I was wondering, do you offer internships as well? In any case, I’ll be sending an application round the end of this week ^^.

  21. Danute Says:

    Oh my, how cute!! 🙂 That’s very nice 🙂 I think you are very inspirated in this place 🙂

  22. Macarena Says:

    Wow, everything looks so great! I’d love to work there since I’m a graphic designer, sadly I live in Chile…Although I’d fly over there in a heartbeat if I thought I had a chance LOL

  23. GeNel Louise Says:

    Thank you for sharing your lovely environment and work routine with everyone! Now I see why you have the most creative team I have ever encountered – you guys know how to have fun! You enjoy your work – and it shows!

  24. Rukiye Güler Says:

    The studio is great so lovely and i can feel the warm atmosphere=)) Sadly i’m studying translation science but if you need an translator for german, turkish (english) i can join=))))

  25. Lina AKA Wingqueen Says:

    OMG!!!! I so wanna go dere!!! Call me k? lol ^^

  26. Kim Littani Says:

    Looks like an amazing and creative environment to work in!

    Question, do you offer internships? I’ve been planning to send an application later this week anyway ^^.

  27. Yula Says:

    Nice office
    Reminds me of Google ones.
    Too bad you are not in my country

  28. ~Pinky~ Says:

    If you ever need someone running around office screaming to every detail that reminds playfish games… im here :D:D hehehe… wish you more success and thanks for the nice games:D

  29. BEC Says:

    It would be worth a move from Alabama, just to work there! Getting my Bachelor’s in Graphic Art/Web Design right now. Finished in August.

  30. Elamaaraeen Says:

    It would be worth a move from Alabama, just to work there! Getting my Bachelor’s in Graphic Art/Web Design right now. Finished in August.

  31. Tyler Says:

    Im not the age of work yet

    But can u open one in Austraila

  32. Imen Says:

    I just love how the office looks like, it’s very creative and worm and the person working there are boosted to work in such decoration, it’s like a mini world of playfish, wish you good luck.
    I have a suggestion: what about seek and find games?
    Thank you

  33. Chaturika Says:

    Wow. it is an wonderland. I really like to draw, but join to your team is just a dream to me. I wish if I can see your studio by distance. Best wishes from Sri Lanka !

  34. 3Designer Says:

    I hope artists are treated very well at playfish.
    Too many artist are so underpaid and overworked prompting a reaction to current movie creator of avatar James Cameron.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lee-stranahan/open-letter-to-james-came_b_451922.html

  35. Andro Says:

    Wow, playfish office looks beautiful. Can you make some other games?

  36. Keiko Says:

    Aww what a cute and comfortable environment to work in!

    If only there’s a pf office in Singapore!

  37. juliette Says:

    the careers page wont load up ? :0/

  38. aonnykaa Says:

    i cant play country story the game just stop initialize page how can i get in the game

  39. Playfish fan Says:

    i want some playfish coins but i’m in indonesia so i cant buy it

  40. Andro Says:

    Ah, playfish is great, I want you make some new game

    Emmm…I want you make this great idea for pet society: Pond Shop and emo style wig

  41. Angelica Says:

    wow! that was so awesome!

  42. Maxine Says:

    wow! Please do more pictures! Maybe you can do an album on facebook of the office~! I hope i can work there when i’m older!

  43. Frank Bside Says:

    Please!! tAkE mE tO LoNdOn! 🙂

  44. Nicola Says:

    Already sent an E-mail, it would be nice to work for you.

  45. Rui Says:

    A awe of awesomeness.
    Great company sounds perfect to play and make the word play 🙂

  46. Joanne Says:

    wow, the playfish studio is SO themed playfish and it’s so cool!

  47. wendy Says:

    I just love playfish games!! It’s so awsome!! Oh ya… Andro’s idea is great!! You should design one for everybody..^^

  48. Bryo-Winx's CEO Says:

    Umm, if my dad passes his exams my whole family will be flying to London, which is yr location, Playfish. I hope the destination is in United Kingdom.

  49. sama.van Says:

    wow!!! very cool design!!! good place to work in! X_X

  50. Peiyun Says:

    Cool Idea! I need playfish cashcan you send 9999 for me?

  51. bob Says:

    And thats called photoshop…… Jokes

  52. dea Says:

    yes on the triler

  53. Mae Says:

    What an exciting atmophere you have there! It’s totally awesome!

  54. fidocn1234 Says:

    playfish office look so cool
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  55. agustina huilen Says:

    cool!!!!!!!

  56. agustina huilen Says:

    uu nadie abla español?

  57. agustina huilen Says:

    xD JEJE

Leave a Reply

