A chat with Pet Society’s Product Manager, Vivienne Bearman!

by

Hi guys! As Valentine’s Day draws nearer we’ve seen lots of romantic items appearing across all of our games – from the sweet Valentine’s Day theme gifts you can send your fellow culinary friends in Restaurant City to the beautiful romantic Victorian set available in Country Story, I got in touch with Vivienne Bearman at Playfish HQ to find out what she and her team have got in store for Pet Society fans.

Hi Vivienne. Thanks for taking some time out of your busy day to chat with me and our readers! Would you let our fans know what you do here at Playfish?
Sure! Hi guys – I’m the product manager for Pet Society which means I keep an eye on what players are doing in the game, as well as listen to their suggestions and feedback and use it to make the game better for our players.

Cool! But for those who haven’t played Pet Society yet, would you give people a quick description of what the game is about?
Pet Society is a game you can play on social networks like Facebook and MySpace. It’s a casual game where you create an animated pet of your choice to take care of. But there is just so much more to it than that – and that is what makes it special. Pet Society is designed so that you can play with your friends and family. For instance, you can visit your friends’ pets at their houses or send them really cute gifts. There are tons of items to collect, whether you want them for yourself or to give to your friends. You can also go fishing with your pet and collect all sorts of weird and wonderful fish, or become a pro-athlete at the Stadium and win lots of coins and achievements. There’s just so much to do I could spend all day telling you about it. Though it’s a very casual game, I have to admit I’m a little addicted and spend as much time as I can on there!

That sounds fun! You mentioned there are lots of things to collect. What new things do our players have to look forward to as we get closer to Valentine’s Day?
Naturally, we’ve released a really fun and romantic Valentine’s Day theme in Pet Society. You can start collecting the new items from all the various stores in the game but also you can give that special someone a gift that won’t open until February 14th. We’re hoping people will receive lots of presents to open on Valentine’s Day! My current favourite items are the beautiful Romantic Castle Terrace and the Romantic Castle Staircase that you can get from the Luxury store. I can’t wait to get my hands on them! I hope someone sends me something, haha…

On the Valentine’s theme, I noticed that the Pet Society Fan Page recently announced a competition, too – can you tell me a little bit about it now?
Well, we’ve asked our fans to show us what their pet’s perfect Valentine would look like by submitting pictures to the competition page. The game is really great for giving our players the creative space to express themselves and we’ve been getting loads of really fantastic entries. I can’t wait for the winners to be announced. We’ll be taking entries until Sunday 14th February at midnight GMT and winners will be announced on Friday 19th February. The best entry will be rewarded with 500 Playfish Cash and a personalised gift for your Pet Society pet, as well.

Where will the winners be announced?
All of our fans and players can keep track of all of the latest Pet Society news and announcements at the official Pet Society blog and the Playfish blog.

Excellent. This month has been very busy for Pet Society! You’ve also released a brand new game feature, is that right?
Yeah! I’m really excited about this particular new release. The recent new feature lets your Pet Society pet have their own pet – we’ve called them Petlings! Players can go to the Garden store and buy either a kitten or a puppy for their pet. We’re planning on releasing more Petlings in the future so we hope the fans will definitely be watching this space for more news on that. On an unrelated note, I just wanted to mention that we’ve also increased the number of ways players can earn bonus coins – from playing the daily lottery to walking around town to collect coins that drop from trees. So, yeah, we’re constantly improving the game.

So many new features! How do you come up with these ideas and keep the game feeling fresh?
I count myself very lucky to be working with such an amazing team. Our artists have a fantastic feel for who our players are and what they want. We also have very dedicated coders and developers for the game. We all work passionately to bring something new and exciting to our fans every week. The Pet Society themes are sometimes tied to fun festivals around the world and we also pay attention to what people are saying on the Pet Society forum. In fact, we asked our players what they wanted to see in the game toward the end of last year and we’re now using that feedback to help us plan out the next few big item themes. The Pet Society team are really friendly and we all get along really well together. I think this really shows through in the game, both in the cute graphics and the happy themes we come out with.

What would you say you’re the most pleased with so far?
I just love that we’ve created a game that lets friends and family play together. And it’s such a quick game to get into – it’s not challenging but there are lots of things to do if you put the time inif you want to, of course! I really love that I can visit a pet’s home and just check out how creatively the owner has used the items we created for them. We’ve seen some really sophisticated designs and themes appearing and it’s so wonderful to see our players finding a form of expression through Pet Society.

Well it has to be asked, Vivienne, what’s the name of your pet?
Hahaha. I’ve called her Tinky. That was the name of my first cat when I was little.

And dare I ask which of the Playfish games is your favourite?
All of our games are beautiful – everyone at Playfish really puts their hearts and minds into them and I know we’ll continue to make them better for our players. So even though I naturally spend a lot of time on Pet Society, I really do love all of our games!

And finally, Vivienne, any last comments?
Definitely! A shout out to our fans!  We’re always interested to hear what players want from the game and the best way to tell us is through the Pet Society forum. We are often running surveys there which players can get involved in if they want, and someone from Playfish is online there 24/7 to listen to players ideas and concerns!

Thanks, Vivienne – and I’m sure we’re all looking forward to more fun releases on Pet Society!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

34 Responses to “A chat with Pet Society’s Product Manager, Vivienne Bearman!”

  1. skychazer Says:

    i wish we can earn playfishcoins bcause we cant afford having play fishcoins and im so addicted to pet society!!!

  2. Maya Says:

    Hello!
    I thought that there will be some Valentine’s Day special menu in PS,
    just like X’mas.
    But there is not…O_Q
    I really want some special menu><
    thank you all 🙂

  3. Zaira Nicole S. Ignacio Says:

    i hope i have playfish coins….:( i want my dream come true…
    i alwayz get not luck =( alwayz loose in the competition cause no one comments and i work hard for that valentine comics =( its in the forum i also make a video no one comment..but many view…i hope u goodluck in the competition guyz…:)

  4. Candy Coco Says:

    I support Pet Society , who’s w me ? 😀

  5. Andro Says:

    I hope I win the pet society competition, and I get 500 PF cash…:p hahahahah

  6. Rushhour Says:

    OK….. I have been playing Pet Society since the beginning… I am enjoying all the variations of new items that come out every week (although overwhelming at times)… My question to you, which I am sure will be ignored (or not really answered), is this….

    When will the other platforms of Pet Society catch up to the Facebook platform???

    As a product manager you have to acknowledge the opportunities missed by not updating these other platforms..

  7. Raymond Wong Says:

    can we buy playfish cash with coins in the future

    • merchas7m4 Says:

      No-one knows that!
      Only the mighty ones do…

      • Joanne Says:

        you know, i really suggest pet society to let people earn playfish cash easier!! face it, the things in the Cash Shop is tight! I’m not saying you should just give out playfish cash just like that, but maybe we could exchange from coins to playfish cash in the Bank! Like maybe, 200 coins for 1 playfish cash for example! And admit it, if people have trouble earning playfish cash, then all those wonderful things you have in the cash shop is a waste of time! not many can afford them! think about it, ok?

  8. Gloria Says:

    i really just was wondering if some could tell me if the cuckoo clock is still being given as one of the prizes in the yellow mystery box??? i would really be so grateful. I have spent so much money trying to get one and still no luck 😦 Thank You Gloria Lopez

  9. Danita Gussman Says:

    This idea has reached a complete new level courtesy of on-line blog services that you can bring on the road. Since most users spend more time online, blogs help them kick their research into overdrive.

  10. Joanne Says:

    Dear Product Manager of Pet Society,

    I have so many to tell you! Firstly, you are BRILLIANTLY creative!! and second, how did you make the products in Pet Society?? Was it like some computer program stuff or something?? I would really like to know… If it’s something involved in computer program complication that I have no idea about, well, that’s too bad… I really dreamt of making an application like Pet Society, I have been using my notebooks and everything but it’s just not good enough… you are very very very EXTREMELY creative!! i really recommend more petlings, something cute! like sheeps, chickens, cows, BIRDS! even hamsters!! that is, if you like my idea…

    well, i love pet society and i hope you can respond to my comment and reply it in my email, thanks! XOXO

    • merchas7m4 Says:

      To make a game like Pet Society you need Flash Professional (Adobe Product) and Photoshop to design the products. To design the products they use drawing tablets.

  11. johnny cats Says:

    Hello, Wonderful site, where did you come up with the info in this summary? Im glad I found it though, I will be checking back soon to see what other articles you have.

  12. annonomous Says:

    i think that some people have missed some of the oldest items that were sold in pet society before all the new stuff i think it would be nice to bring the old items back along with new items and keep them for a longer time so the people like me will have the chance to buy older items that other people might have but people who started playing later don’t.

    • Joanne Says:

      yeah, i agree.. my friends have these cool clothes and they’re not in the stores…

    • Rushhour Says:

      I disagree.. The reward for playing since 2008 is the benefit of having those rare items no longer in stores.. I am sorry you missed out on certain items, but you can trade for them.. Depending on what it is, I would just give it to you as would most “PS Angels”

  13. Valery Says:

    When I only visit like 5 friends, Pet Society keeps on saying save failed. This happened every since April 28th.

  14. NANY GIRSAI Says:

    HELLO,
    I HOPE YOU CAN HELP ME WITH THE PROBLEMS I AM EXPERIENCING NOW, WHICH ARE REALLY ANNOYING:

    CASH MYSTERY BOXES (3 CC) PROMISE TO GIVE AN ITEM NOT IN STORES. IMAGINE MY AMAZEMENT AND RAGE AT FINDING A CHEAP BOOK COLLECTION THAT CURRENTLY SELLS IN THE STORE FOR 450 COINS!
    HOW CAN I GET REIMRUSEMENT? YOU DONT REALLY THINK I WOULD SPEND SO MUCH REAL MONEY ON A CHEAP ITEM THAT, CONTRARY TO THE PLAYFISH ANNOUNCEMENT, IS INDEED AVAILABLE NOW IN THE SHOP.
    2. THE CORSAGE POT HAS 2 PROBLEMS: a) IT DOESNT GROW; AND b) IT CANNOT BE GIFTED!!! I GET THE WINDOW “THIS ITEM CANNOT BE GIFTED”
    3. PINATA ITEMS CANNOT BE GIFTED EITHER, CONTRARY TO PUBLICATIONS. PLEASE REPLY ASASP. THANK YOU.

  15. NANY GIRSAI Says:

    HELLO,
    I HOPE YOU CAN HELP ME WITH THE PROBLEMS I AM EXPERIENCING NOW, WHICH ARE REALLY ANNOYING:

    CASH MYSTERY BOXES (3 CC) PROMISE TO GIVE AN ITEM NOT IN STORES. IMAGINE MY AMAZEMENT AND RAGE AT FINDING A CHEAP BOOK COLLECTION THAT CURRENTLY SELLS IN THE STORE FOR 450 COINS!
    HOW CAN I GET REIMRUSEMENT? YOU DONT REALLY THINK I WOULD SPEND SO MUCH REAL MONEY ON A CHEAP ITEM THAT, CONTRARY TO THE PLAYFISH ANNOUNCEMENT, IS INDEED AVAILABLE NOW IN THE SHOP.
    2. THE CORSAGE POT HAS 2 PROBLEMS: a) IT DOESNT GROW; AND b) IT CANNOT BE GIFTED!!! I GET THE WINDOW “THIS ITEM CANNOT BE GIFTED”
    3. PINATA ITEMS CANNOT BE GIFTED EITHER, CONTRARY TO PUBLICATIONS. PLEASE REPLY ASASP. THANK YOU.

  16. Marjorie Watts Says:

    Someone said to look at your friends and if you are listed as a friend then there is a backdoor hacker trying to get into your account. I deleted myself but I just come back again. Help

  17. suchet singh Says:

    ples send me 8098765 and send me 10000.0000 coins
    flayfish cash
    and add me in facebook and ps
    you are pet society manager
    and hey you make me ADD me
    ples
    pls
    ples
    i will send you evry day gift
    plessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss.
    I will beg you

  18. suchet singh Says:

    yayayaya
    plesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssand

    you are gone MDD

  19. Bora Can ASLI Says:

    Vivienne Bearman is married? If she is married, what’s her husband’s name?

  20. Abieza Ajah Says:

    playfish

  21. Abieza Ajah Says:

    please gift me playfish cash in pet society

  22. Taylor Says:

    I would appreciate it if they would fix the gliches that keep us from being able to access the game. Network Error’s keep showing up, no help from the game producers, they just keep saying it’s our problem. Seems everytime they upgrade something, the game goes down. Whatever the issues are they need to fix them so we can enjoy the game(s).

  23. Taylor Says:

    fix the game so we can access it, everytime you make an improvement we can’t access it anymore, going on two weeks for me, and that sadly now includes restaurant city, hotel city and most playfish games now. I’ve had to play the games that are produced by others and I am not the only one. Farm Town and Paradise Island, least I can load um and play.

Leave a Reply

